top of page

This is what our guests have to say!

Online Reviews & Comments for Lakewood Getaways
(collected from various sources)

Ellen R.

Lakewood lodge

Spectacular spot: beautiful home, scenery, and atmosphere!!
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

 

Wanda

Max Meadows VA

Doesn't Get Any Better

This property is beautiful and very clean. Sherry and Jerry go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and have a wonderful stay. The fish pond and firepit were great bonuses as well.  The cabin is also well stocked with pretty much anything you will need. Absolutely no complaints at all!
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: People with disabilities, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 

Jo D.

Lakewood Lodge

Our week-end at Lakewood Lodge met all of our expectations.  The Lodge is cozy and well-equipped.  We hiked on the New River Trail (10 - 15 minute drive from the Lodge), visited Attimo Winery (similar distance), and had Sunday brunch at the Draper Mercantile (recommend this stop - wish we had arrived early enough on Friday to go there for live music).  It would be hard to beat this if you're looking for someplace that's away from everything and still has options for getting out to eat or enjoy local amenities.  We'd definitely return!
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

Danielle S.

Chester

A Little Piece of Heaven

The cabin was beyond perfect which made for a wonderful overnight stay and the grounds were beautiful! We enjoyed a walk with our two dogs on the New River Trail (which was very close to the cabin) and returned for a relaxing evening. Kudos to you!

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

 

Doug

Chantilly, VA/Northern Virginia

Relaxing, Enjoyable Stay

Our stay at the Lakewood Lodge was everything we had hoped for and more. The lodge was very comfortable and homey with everything we needed for a quiet, relaxing stay. It is very obvious that a lot of care and thought went into decorating and preparing the facility to give it a wonderful homey ambiance and much credit to the owners and managers of Lakewood is due. Even outside of the cabin afforded a relaxing atmosphere among nature with the pond, gazebo and fire pit, where we could sit and take in the starry nights or observe visiting deer on the grounds. We can't wait for our next visit and hope to stay even longer than we did this time. I highly recommend Lakewood as a vacation spot or for a weekend getaway.

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: People with disabilities, Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 

  

Linda H.

Great property for 1 or 2 couples

Our large family did not stay at the lodge but our friends did. They found it to be comfortable and relaxing. They especially enjoyed watching the deer frolic around the yard in the early morning.

Our large family filled the Lakewood House. It was just perfect for our birthday celebration. We stayed in the kitchen the majority of the time ...what a special place!  The grand kids enjoyed the big yard. The only thing that was a little problem was the back bedroom was cold for sleeping.

We cannot thank you enough for sharing your homes with us. We definitely would love to come back again!
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

B. Family

Atlanta, GA

Excellent!! Just what we needed

My family stayed here for a long weekend and everything was great. We had our 6 month old son as well as our dogs, and the house was easily able to accommodate all those needs. The owners were extremely nice and helpful through the booking and pre-arrival process. When we got to the house, it was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Great place to just lounge around and watch a movie, or enjoy the beautiful views of the grounds from the big wrap around porch. We were just there for a relaxation getaway weekend, but with the easy lake access and "water toys" available, we'll probably want to come back for more of an adventurous weekend as well. Highly recommended.
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: People with disabilities, Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

  

The Halls

Dublin, Va

Perfect anniversary

We stayed at Lakewood Lodge to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. Everything was perfect! It was beautiful, clean, well stocked with everything we needed to cook our anniversary meals, and so relaxing!  We enjoyed the lodge location inside and out. We loved the outdoor scenery for some anniversary pictures!  We look forward to celebrating future anniversaries at the cabin!
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Romantic getaway

 

  

Dennis

Fredericksburg, VA

Beautiful and Relaxing

Many thanks to the Vaughns for providing a great weekend retreat at a reasonable price.   We really enjoyed all the little touches in the house that made it feel so welcoming.  It was quiet and peaceful, loved having a coffee in the morning on the wrap around porch listening and watching the birds.
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

Josh P.
Great Family Time

This cabin was perfect for our family.  My 6 year old had a yard to run and explore, but it was not lake front so no worries about him going to close to water while playing outside. My 10 year old loved playing ball in the yard and swimming in the lake, fishing and kayaking. My 14 year old  asked for direct TV and Wi-Fi and smores, which she got, plus she went outside with us and down to the lake, she even went out and enjoyed the swing. Yay!!  My husband just wanted to fish with peace and quiet and have a nice soaking tub and I just wanted for us to be together, yet with comfortable space for all of us within reason.  This cabin met all our needs for a great vacation. The extras in the cabin blew my mind, it was very thoughtfully done.  The walk to the lake is not far at all and the cabin size was perfect for us. It is a fairly private setting. The photos of the cabin are true yet it is better then pictured.  Kitchen is small but well supplied with nice appliances. Super clean and well maintained. Town is not too far if you wish to go somewhere but we were very content just staying put. Enjoyed eating meals on the deck, making a campfire and playing games in the yard.  We definitely want to go back.  We actually did two days of vacation and spent no money on those days!  Yay again! Great pictures moments ! Good memories!

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

Kimberly W.

Blacksburg, VA

Life is Special, enjoy it one step at a time!

Thank you so much for opening your home up to us! Enjoyed every minute! Some much needed peace and quiet! Tinkerbell greeted us in the hammock with love and sweet kisses, I believe she would have laid between us the rest of the day, however, the fish had been fed and off she went. We appreciate you, such a sweet spirit of faith in the home! God is good! We can't wait to revisit!
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Pet owners, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 

Mac

Loved Every Minute!

This wonderful cabin was better than advertised.  Everything we needed was right at our fingertips.  The cabin was very clean and comfortable, and I enjoyed the decor very much.  Sitting on the covered porch as the sun set was a treat.  Anyone wanting a nice week-end getaway will find this property a great value and an excellent choice for a longer stay.  I plan to return for a week, and will recommend this place to my friends.  The owners are to commended.

Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Pet owners, Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway
 

Stacey & Family

Kempton, PA

Family Getaway

Lakewood Lodge is beautiful!!!  It has everything you need and you feel right at home! It was the perfect spot for myself, my husband and 2 sons (15, 16) to have some time together and away from our busy schedules! There is so much to do in the area as well as just relaxing and enjoying a cup of coffee on the porch watching the deer!  The boys all had fun on the river- kayaking and fishing!  Highly recommended!! we will be back for longer that 4 days! The Vaughn's were wonderful!  Pleasant and helpful but not hovering!

Stayed: October 2013
Submitted: October 29, 2013
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: People with disabilities, Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers


 

R. Dillard

Better than you could hope for!

What a lovely cabin, with exquisite detailing and furnishing in every room. Fully equipped with anything you could need. Spotless and extremely comfortable. The owners were a God-send with helpful suggestions for just the recreation spots and day trips right for us ... Mountain Lake, Gatewood Reservoir, Claytor Lake State Park, New River State Park Trail, etc. Usually after a week in one place my husband is ready to leave, but he said he wished he had a couple more days in this cabin. I did too! You won't be sorry you chose this place!

Stayed: September 2013
Submitted: September 17, 2013
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 


Daisy

Knoxville

The Best Family Reunion

My parents and I, plus two dogs stayed at the lodge.  The rest of the family stayed at the lake house and this created a perfect family reunion with enough room for all.  You could walk or drive to each place and the dock, which I enjoyed the walk with my dog every morning.  The properties are beautiful, clean and filled with everything you need from spices, condiments, paper towels, soap, etc. to crates, gates, grills, fire pit, swings and large, beautiful yards for bocce ball and Frisbee, and a huge porch which was perfect for corn hole or just relaxing on those peaceful mornings and a great place for the dogs to hang.  The views from the lake house are amazing, overlooking the lake, and the lodge has a beautiful gazebo and fish pond, plenty of places for picture taking.

 

We ran into Sherry and Jerry a couple of times and they were always helpful with suggestions, requests or anything you may need.

 

We visited the State Park and enjoyed the sandy beach, swimming and hiking.  We never made it to a restaurant because we enjoyed cooking at the lake house, the kitchen is huge, plenty of room for all and each family had a dinner night for all to enjoy.

 

I would recommend both places for a large group of people, with gatherings at the lake house.  The lodge is perfect for a couple with kids or dogs.  You can go from a romantic getaway to a family reunion, peaceful and relaxing to competitive games, cookouts or dining in and enjoy a large double-deck dock with plenty of chairs and room for sunning and swimming.  And hammocks all around for lounging ... but be careful or you could be flipped on the ground ... lots of good stories and memories at Lakewood!

 

Thank you again Sherry and Jerry - we enjoyed every moment!

Stayed: August 2013
Submitted: September 5, 2013
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 

Boyd family

Chester, Va

crystal Boyd

We really enjoyed our stay even though we couldn't enjoy the water due to the weather, the cabin had so much to offer for the adults and 3 children under the age of 12. We especially liked the front porch and the fire pit where we roasted marshmallows. I would definitely recommend it to all my friends and family! It felt so relaxing just hanging out I truly hate to go back to the hustle and bustle of my life! We hope to visit again!

Stayed: July 2013Submitted: July 15, 2013Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children

 

BC

Winchester VA

VT family

Our family had a wonderful stay at Lakewood Lodge. The home was beautiful, warm and so comfortable. The porch was the perfect place for a cookout. The yard with the pond, gazebo, and fire pit added to the beauty of the lodge. My kids loved fishing at the lake. All in all, it was the perfect place to stay for our daughter's graduation from VT. It was her idea to seek out a house at the lake for that weekend, and we could not have been more pleased. Thank you so much for the perfect accommodations for such a memorable weekend for our family!!!

Stayed: May 2013
Submitted: May 22, 2013
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 

  

 

 

AWESOME

Louisa VA

Family Getaway

We would like to say Thank you so much for sharing your gorgeous lodge with us!!!! It was perfect for us and want to visit again.  I fell in love and did not want to leave ….I needed a few more days to just relax and take it all in!!!!

You both are so helpful and kind and we are gracious for your hospitality!!!

Hope to visit again!

Your place equipped with EVERYTHING!!!!

Stayed: May 2013
Submitted: May 16, 2013
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: People with disabilities, Families with young children, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 

Tammy & Greg

Eggleston, VA

Weekend Getaway

My boyfriend picked out this beautiful place and brought me here for the weekend. It was perfect! The cabin was spotless and beautifully decorated. Even though we only live about 45 min away, it felt like we were truly "out of town" and on vacation. I never knew such a place existed so close to home. We really enjoyed our stay here and hope to come back again! Thanks for sharing your cozy little cabin : )

Stayed: February 2013
Submitted: February 25, 2013
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

 

Owner response:

We so appreciate your glowing comments and are very glad that Lakewood lodge was as special for you as it is for us. When we built the lodge, we had the idea that folks shouldn't have to drive all the way to Gatlinburg to find a romantic location. We hope you will come again when you have a few days for a getaway.

 

  

"The happy campers"

Central Virginia

Vacation

We would highly recommend this beautiful and serene place when planning a vacation. This is our third summer here and have already reserved a week in July of 2013. The log cabin is on a private two acre lot along with a gazebo, goldfish pond and fire pit. The cabin itself is exquisite, complete with a hot tub. Every morning we took a hike at nearby Claytor Lake State Park. In the afternoon, we enjoyed swimming and fishing at Claytor Lake, which is a short walk from the cabin. Our dog also enjoyed swimming in the lake! Every evening we enjoyed roasting marshmallows at the fire pit. The owners, Sherry and Jerry are awesome! They go out of their way to make you feel like family. They live a short distance from the cabin and make themselves available whenever the need arises.  We are so thankful to have found this place. Come and see for yourself!

Stayed: August 2012
Submitted: August 20, 2012
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 

Sabres fan

Buffalo, NY

Gorgeous getaway

The pictures do not do the cabin justice.  The property is beautiful and tastefully done.  Sherry was great to work with for arrangements and questions.  We had children of all ages that enjoyed the dock and lake.  We had a wonderful time.  We were with another family that rented the Lakeview next door and we had a great vacation.  Thank you so much for the memories.

Stayed: July 2012
Submitted: August 9, 2012
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 

Karl

Radford, VA

Radford

Sherry,

 

Thank you.  We had a great time.  I never told my wife where we were going and she was very surprised.  It was almost like I had planned it.  We took the canoe for a quick spin.  Sat on the porch and played checkers as the thunderstorm came through.  (It blew the metal star off the decorative well , I set it back on top but not sure how it used to sit.)  Saw some deer last night and the fire flies were going crazy.  Then had coffee and breakfast on the porch this morning with a little white dog that came by.  And on the way back to Radford I helped a box turtle across the road.  My wife cleaned this morning after I left so everything should be good, we didn't make much of a mess.  Is that bee hives over by the tree line?  Hopefully we will see you again, well I guess technically we didn't actually get to see you.  Thanks again.

Stayed: July 2012
Submitted: July 17, 2012
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

DCA

Blacksburg, Va

AWESOME

I have never stayed in such a Clean family friendly place in my life!!!   I am a clean freak (my husband & kids say) and I was totally comfortable in this cabin, which I normally can't say for any other places I have stayed.   We have stayed in some places that I have been ok, but never have I felt completely comfortable without my family wearing socks the whole time.    We were SO impressed with all the little personal touches and everything you needed was pretty much there, other than food of course.   It was such a Beautiful place with the pond and Gazebo and the cabin was so nice.  We are a Christian family that actually have our kids attending a Christian school and we were pleased to see that it was obvious the owners were as well. It just made me and my family feel so at ease and so relaxed to be there.   Me and my husband, plus our boys are planning to hopefully come back next fall.    Thank you so very much for making our stay such a Blessing and for being so helpful while we were there.    You guys have done a Wonderful job!!!   We will be recommending you to others!!!!    Hope to see you next year.

Stayed: July 2012
Submitted: July 15, 2012S
ource: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 

Hope

Floyd, VA

Best weekend away we've ever taken!

Words cannot describe this gorgeous cabin. My husband and I travel a lot, so for us to find somewhere that feels like home is pretty rare. I was so thrilled to have walked into a cabin that truly felt like home. It was clean, comfortable and decorated so beautifully. The yard, pond and campfire put was so nice. We were only there a weekend and would have stayed all week if we could. The price was reasonable and worth every penny and the owners are wonderful. They welcomed us with open arms and we had a wonderful time. The first evening we spent on the porch eating supper, and roasted marshmallows. The next morning, we had coffee in the gazebo overlooking the pond and headed out to fish and enjoy the sun on the dock. It was so nice and peaceful! Later that evening we rented a jet ski and was thrilled to head back to the cabin to enjoy it some more. We threw a blanket out and took rest in the shade for hours. It was such a peaceful, safe and relaxing weekend. We have already started looking at the calendar to plan a future stay. Thank you again for working with us last minute and for providing such an incredible stay. You two are wonderful to work with, and your dogs!

Stayed: June 2012
Submitted: June 27, 2012
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: People with disabilities, Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 

Jane W.

Washington, D.C.

J& B

We had our family reunion at the Lakewood Lodge and it was just perfect.  We stayed on another 5 days and enjoyed the beautiful, quiet surroundings, swimming and kayaking in the lake.  It was the most wonderful restful vacation, and Sherry and Jerry were so friendly and helpful we couldn't have asked for more.  The lodge was very comfortable and equipped with everything we needed, and we're looking forward to a return visit.

Stayed: June 2012
Submitted: June 20, 2012
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

 

Owner response:

It is a continual source of joy for us that our guests have such an enjoyable time at the lodge! We put all our energy into making everything " just right" that it is very gratifying when we succeed,

We appreciate and enjoy you, our guests, and include you in our family once you have stayed with us.  We truly look forward to your return!

 

  

Kim

Bluefield, VA

Lakewood Lodge

My family and I had a wonderful time at Lakewood Lodge! We loved the peaceful surroundings and the privacy, but still in the vicinity of Claytor Lake. The cabin was beautifully decorated inside and out. We had some good times around the fire pit roasting marshmallows and wieners! The gazebo and pond was gorgeous! We hope to return again sometime this summer! The owners were so very helpful, too!

Thanks for sharing your little piece of paradise and allowing out lil furry friends to come along! They enjoyed it as much as we did!

Stayed: May 2012
Submitted: May 29, 2012
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 

Lloyd & Gail

Kernersville, NC

Great for a get-away

This was a great place to go to get away from it all. We came to celebrate our 30th anniversary. It was very clean, comfortable and quiet, with all the comforts of home. I would recommend it and hope to visit again someday.  Thanks Jerry and Sherry

Stayed: March 2012
Submitted: April 7, 2012
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Age 55+, Romantic getaway

 

  

 

 

RH

New River VA

awesome

We stayed at the lodge for a little getaway for Valentine’s weekend and thought it was amazing I would tell anyone to come there and would stay again

Stayed: February 2012
Submitted: February 13, 2012
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

 

  

lcblue

Virginia

Clean, comfortable..........

The cabin itself was great. I truly do appreciate that it was very clean and well kept. The bed was very comfortable. I know that the description stated that it was a 5 minute walk to the lake but was hoping for at least a view, which you did get from the upstairs bedroom. The picture also leads you to believe that it is private, but there is actually a home in plain view not far from the cabin. I believe it is associated with the owners, (family maybe). All in all, a nice place to stay if you are not picky about privacy and lake access.

p.s. loved the fire pit outside!

Stayed: November 2011
Submitted: November 27, 2011
Source: VRBO

Owner response:

All 3 of our properties are in sight of other houses. Most of the neighboring houses, however, are only occupied occasionally. We have reviewed the web site and tried to make sure it is clear as to the view provided: beautiful, open fields, huge yard, trees, gazebo and small fish pond. There is even an orchard and a road between the lodge and the little house mentioned here. The lodge is very private. Being set back from the water is a plus during the boating season as the bass fishermen start very early! Folks that know the lake request a quieter place so they can sleep later. A large number of our guests are return visitors so we are convinced what we provide is outstanding in every way! Read on to see what others have to say about us!!

 

Amy

NoVA

Beautiful, relaxing get-away!

What a great weekend retreat!  We had a fantastic time in the beautiful, peaceful setting and home.  The kids LOVED all the fun details around the lodge!  Sherry was a pleasure to deal with, and a wealth of information.  We strongly recommend, and we will definitely be back!!

Stayed: November 2011
Submitted: November 23, 2011
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Girls getaway, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 

Nancy

Chicago, IL

Even more adorable than we imagined!

Lakewood Lodge is even more adorable than the pictures portray!  It is very well-appointed, with attention to detail, and very clean.  The owner was very helpful in making our arrangements and providing directions.  We stayed here with another family, as we all live in Chicago and were visiting our daughters at Radford University--our daughters loved being able to get away from campus for the weekend and relax in the scenic beauty.  We especially enjoyed the grill, the gazebo, the porch, the gas fireplace, and the fire pit for s'mores.  Also, there was lots of room outside to play and toss the football.  It was nice to have internet access, as well...all of the modern conveniences, but charming and relaxing!  Definitely beats staying in a hotel!  It took us about 25-30 minutes to get to RU, but the scenic drive was fun and to us it wasn't too far at all to go back and forth a few times.  It was too cold to boat, but hopefully on our next trip we will be able to enjoy the canoe or even rent a pontoon boat. We are very grateful that Jerry and Sherry shared their beautiful property with us, and we would definitely stay again and recommend it to friends.

Stayed: October 2011
Submitted: November 2, 2011
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 

 Nancy

Linwood, NJ

BLISS!!

I can only describe this cabin as blissful. What a delight it was after 8 hours of traveling to arrive at this sparkling hideaway. We felt like we were tucked away in a little bit of heaven. The cabin is absolutely beautiful and decorated so tastefully. We oohed and aahed as we acquainted ourselves with our surroundings. Unfortunately, we had to leave early the next morning to continue our journey to TN and couldn't enjoy what we had to the fullest. We do hope that we will be able to come back again when we will be able to spend quality and quantity time properly enjoying this delightful property. If you are going to be in the Claytor Lake area, don't miss the opportunity to enjoy this home. :)

Stayed: October 2011
Submitted: October 20, 2011

Source: VRBO

  

Judi and Ron

Manassas, VA

Radford Parents Weekend

Stayed here during parent’s weekend with another couple.  Way better than staying in a hotel.  The house is beautifully decorated and well equipped with everything you will need.  Had the kids meet us on Friday night and cooked out on the grill.  Getting up in the morning and looking out off of the deck with our coffee was so relaxing.  In the evening the fireplace took the chill off.  Will return again!!

Stayed: October 2011
Submitted: October 18, 2011
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 

KClark

Blacksburg

Lakewood Lodge- lots of character in a peaceful setting

The Lakewood Lodge is a great place for a retreat to be with friends, family or to even get some peaceful time along. The owners did a great job on the place with all the comforts of home and then some!  The cabin has much eye appeal. We also enjoyed the late night camp fire and a peaceful stroll to the lake for fishing. About 35 minutes from Blacksburg, this location in Hiwassee also offers a good option from the typical hotel stay when in town for football games. We also found pontoon rentals at the main Claytor Lake Marina to be very reasonable. An all-over enjoyable experience.

Stayed: September 2011
Submitted: September 13, 2011
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 

The honeymooners

Stuarts Draft, VA

Perfect Honeymoon

My husband I spent our honeymoon at Lakewood on 8/13-8/18/11.  We found the cabin to be absolutely beautiful.  Pictures do not do it justice.  We will definitely be returning in the future.  Sherry and Jerry were very considerate of our privacy but were readily helpful if needed.  We could not have asked for a better honeymoon spot.  Thanks again Sherry and Jerry.

Stayed: August 2011
Submitted: August 29, 2011
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

 

Tasha Briwn

Radford, VA

Wonderful visit

We spent my daughters 13th bday here, and it was amazing. The cabin was gorgeous, it very clean, and the beds were so comfortable I didn’t want to get up in the morning.  Jerry and Sherry were so kind, they made you feel at home. They came and picked up all the kids and took them to the lake, helped with life jackets, they went above and beyond. I can't wait to go back and stay again. It was by far the best stay I've had.

Stayed: August 2011
Submitted: August 11, 2011
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: People with disabilities, Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 

Jon

Charlotte, NC

Quiet and relaxing

We recently spent a long weekend at the Lakewood Lodge and we found it to be very quiet and relaxing. Our party consisted of four adults and two small children, which made for tight quarters in the cabin, but I would certainly recommend the cabin for two couples or one family of four or five.

 

We had deer traipsing through the yard and woodchucks camped out in the adjacent field. The biggest downside were the bugs outside in the evening which rendered the porch unusable after dark. I'd recommend bringing your bug spray and some citronella candles.

Stayed: July 2011
Submitted: July 19, 2011
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

 

Owner response:

Since this reviewer stayed with us, we have added a queen sleeper sofa. In addition to the 2 other queen beds, we have a twin trundle for children and a high-end inflatable mattress.

We have had families of 10 stay with us and even though I thought it would be too crowded and didn't recommend it, they were happy as could be! We also have 2 other properties in the same neighborhood that comfortably sleep 10 -12 if you need more room.

 

As for the bugs, we have found that turning off the porch lights at night really helps. There is bug repellant for guests located in the bathroom. We usually provide citronella candles and I will definitely replace those as well.

 

Kevin & Kim

Toms Brook, VA

Kevin, Kim & Family

The cabin was everything we expected and would highly recommend this property to anyone wanting to get away for some relaxation.  We rented a boat from Claytor Lake Watersports for the day and the personnel were courteous and helpful.  The fishing was slow but we still enjoyed being on the water to enjoy the sights and sounds.  Claytor Lake and surrounding areas are beautiful and is one of our favorite spots.  Sherry and Jerry were wonderful and there to help anyway possible.  It is great that they open their cabin and property for others to enjoy.  We spent three nights and wish we could have spent more!!

Stayed: June 2011
Submitted: July 1, 2011
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Age 55+, Families with teenagers

 

Gid

Cary, NC

A real "find"

From the first contact with the owner, through the arrival at the lodge, to the serene, restful and comfortable stay, our experience with Lakewood was fantastic. The owners are very respectful of your privacy, making the well-appointed cabin feel even more like a home-away-from-home.

Stayed: June 2011
Submitted: June 13, 2011
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Pet owners, Romantic getaway

 

aliadvent

Christiansburg, VA

Truly like being at home - only better!

What a beautiful property and unique cabin! We stayed for just one night but it was wonderfully relaxing and just far enough away from the "world" to feel like we were isolated. I would definitely recommend it and hope to visit myself again very soon!

Stayed: June 2010S
ubmitted: June 1, 2011
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 

Craig

Riner Va

Great Anniversary get-a-way

My husband and I so enjoyed this beautiful cabin for our 10 year anniversary! What an awesome quiet get-a-way not to mention romantic! We are so very grateful for the weekend at the cabin..and think about it often! Thanks Mr. & Mrs. Vaughn!!!!

Stayed: August 2010
Submitted: October 21, 2010
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Romantic getaway

 

  

 

 


Diana

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Great place for graduation out-of-country guests

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the lodge. Lots of space for us to rest, cook meals and prepare for our daughter's graduation from Radford University. Would definitely recommend to future grads families to book early as this place is awesome. Thanks for providing such a serene place.

Stayed: May 2010S
Submitted: July 31, 2010
Source: VRBO

 

Alan H.

Virginia

Wonderful place for a romantic getaway

We had a wonderful experience at Lakewood Lodge.  Sherry made us feel welcomed with fresh flowers and a card on the table when we arrived.  The cabin is spacious, comfortable, well decorated and furnished with all the amenities you might want.  It is definitely a luxury accommodation that I would recommend.

Stayed: April 2010
Submitted: April 27, 2010
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Romantic getaway


 

Emily and Marcus

Richmond, VA

There is no better place ...

There is no better place to get away for the weekend and just relax. The cabin and lake was so beautiful. We enjoyed the paddle boat even though we just went in circles for a while :) The cabin had everything you need, it makes you feel like you are at home and it smelled so good. Sherry and Jerry were so kind and made you feel very welcoming. They are also very familiar with the area so if you needed help finding something they knew exactly how to get there. This is something that we will do at least once a year!! Can't wait to visit again! Emily & Marcus :)

Stayed: April 2010
Submitted: April 23, 2010
Source: VRBO
 

Donna and Lisa

Owensboro, Ky.

Lakewood Lodge, charming and beautiful.

Sherry and Jerry, your cabin was breathtaking and just what we were looking for. We walked in and felt right away at home. We were there for my daughter's interview at Radford University and it was just what she needed to take some of the stress away. The cabin was so soothing and relaxing and we just enjoyed it so much. It is decorated beautifully and with all the extra touches that shows you care about your guests comfort. Loved feeding your fish at the gazebo pond, but we missed seeing your dog Jake. He didn't come by to visit. We will definitely be back in the future and will be telling our friends and family what a great place we found. Thank you.

Stayed: March 2010
Submitted: April 4, 2010
Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

 

Daan & Caroline Wouterse

The Netherlands

Dear Sherry and Jerry, we...

Dear Sherry and Jerry, we had a wonderful 4 nights in your lodge! We visited our son, Rens, who stays in Radford for 10 months high school. We had a warm reunion after 6 months, at a beautiful place to be: Lakewood Lodge in Claytor Lake Park! We certainly recommend this place to other people! Kindest regards, Daan, Caroline, Denise, Rens, Lars Wouterse from the Netherlands

Stayed: March 2010
Submitted: March 7, 2010
Source: VRBO

 

Ruth Ann Dumas

Lake Ridge, VA

Christmas at the Lodge

Christmas at the Lodge was amazing. The Dumas and Mitton family had a great time. It was fun to celebrate Christmas with our family who came from Pittsburgh! Thanks so much for making room for another tree, my niece was thrilled! Everything was just as shown on the website! We hope to be back again next year!

Stayed: December 2009
Submitted: December 29, 2009
Source: VRBO

 

Anonymous

Roanoke, VA

Sherry & Jerry,
We had a very enjoyable and peaceful stay at your place.  It was so nice to get away and relax.  I look forward to coming again someday.  I will probably be reserving a weekend for my parents sometime soon.  They will be celebrating their 50th Anniversary next October, and I can’t think of a better place for them to get away and celebrate and relax.

Stayed: November 2009
Submitted: November 16, 2009
Source: VRBO

 

CINDY HARRIS

ROANOKE, VA.

We just spent an incredible week at Lakewood Lodge. It is truly a "little piece of Heaven". Anything and Everything you would ever need was at your fingertips. Sherry I cannot thank you enough for allowing us the "privilege" to stay in your "home away from home" retreat. We will definitely tell all of our friends and family about your "get-away". We have never felt so much at peace and restful in all of our years of vacationing. Thanks again for making it so NICE for us and everyone who stays there. See you SOON!!!!!!

Stayed: October 2009

Submitted: October 27, 2009

Source: VRBO

 

Jamie30

Salem, Va

Jerry & Sherry,

The Dudley family had such an amazing time at the Lodge. The pictures on this website do not do it the justice it deserves. The spirit of the Lodge is wonderful. Thank you for making us feel like we have been neighbors for years. My husband and I cannot wait until we get to come alone and leave the kids with Nana! Take care.

Stayed: August 2009

Submitted: August 27, 2009
Source: VRBO

  

Allen & Dreama

Galax VA

Great place to spend time...

Great place to spend time, the cabin is wonderful, and the lake is beautiful.

Stayed: August 2009
Submitted: August 23, 2009
Source: VRBO

  

Kimberly W.

Blacksburg, VA

Oh Man! We had an awesome...

Oh Man! We had an awesome time at Lakewood Lodge with our family and friends. We were so thankful to have such wonderful people to open up their home to share their blessing with us. Everything we needed was at our fingertips. I would recommend this lodge to anyone looking for peace, quiet and a relaxing time. Our stay was more than delightful. We loved our little piece of heaven.

Stayed: August 2009

Submitted: August 11, 2009

Source: VRBO

  

Josh & Heather Graham

Blacksburg, VA

Jerry & Sherry,

Thanks for taking care of us for the weekend.  The cabin is beautiful and peaceful.

Stayed: June 2009

Submitted: June 22, 2009

Source: VRBO

  

Jim & Dodie Lankford

Glen Allen, VA

Sherry & Jerry, we had a ...

Sherry & Jerry, we had a great time at Lakewood Lodge. Everything was very peaceful and relaxing, exactly what we were looking for. We will definitely return.

Stayed: June 2009

Submitted: June 8, 2009

Source: VRBO

  

Jerry and Joy

Radford,Va

Sherry and Jerry,

We had such a great time at your "little hideaway".  We were highly impressed.  We will surely return as time allows.

Stayed: May 2009

Submitted: May 22, 2009

Source: VRBO

  

Mary, Mark, Brooks,

Baltimore, Maryland

Lakewood Lodge was everything we expected and a

great deal more.  What a beautiful and peaceful

place to get away.  We thought we would stay in a

cabin what we didn't know that Lakewood Lodge is

the epitome of what a cabin vacation should be.

We were extremely pampered without invasiveness.

This is the way to vacation!  Thank you Sherry and

Jerry!

Stayed: May 2009

Submitted: May 12, 2009

Source: VRBO

  

Dave & Debbie Keener

Draper, VA

What a beautiful place to...

What a beautiful place to "Get Away". We thoroughly enjoyed the comfort of this wonderful home and all the amenities that everyone will just have to see to believe.  We were very pleased with everything....  especially Jake.  He is the sweetest dog EVER!  We will be recommending your hiding spot to everyone.  Many Thanks!!!

Stayed: April 2009
Submitted: April 29, 2009
Source: VRBO

  

Anonymous

Rochester, NY

As I'm sure you hear all ...

As I'm sure you hear all the time, we had just the absolute best vacation at Lakewood. We are pretty sure we want to plan on coming again around the same time next year. Our daughter still gets misty-eyed when she realizes we're back home, LOL... she will periodically tell me, "I (sniff sniff) miss (sniff sniff) the cabin!!" Anyway, thank you once again for making us feel so welcome and so relaxed. It was exactly what we needed!

Stayed: April 2009

Submitted: April 24, 2009
Source: VRBO

  

 

 

Anonymous

We had a great weekend, I found the information received and the actual cabin were 100% accurate. Thank you for allowing us to use your fishing gear. The wireless internet access was a most have for the teenagers. And been pet friendly allow us to have the whole family together, we really appreciate that!

Stayed: April 2009
Submitted: April 15, 2009
Source: VRBO

  

 

 

Anonymous

Jerry and Sherry,

 

Thank you for everything.  We had a wonderful, relaxing time and we can't wait to come back.

Stayed: April 2009
Submitted: April 7, 2009
Source: VRBO

  

 

 

Anonymous

Dear Sherry and Jerry, Found the cabin a great getaway less than an hour from my home.  At the start of winter and the start of the busy holiday season, it was the perfect place to refresh, renew.  I plan to be back during the active season to enjoy the river and trail.  Thanks so much for your comfortable, hospitable, warm and solid little house.  Luci

Stayed: December 2008
Submitted: December 19, 2008
Source: VRBO

  

 

 

Anonymous

Lake Worth, FL

What a wonderful retreat, definitely a home away from home.  We enjoyed fishing from the docks, fresh vegetables from the garden and just relaxing on the porch.  The Cabin definitely seems like it was a labor of love and it shows in every detail, from the structure to the decoration!

Jake was an asset, the children loved playing with him and he is such a lovable dog, I think we all really miss him!  Jerry and Sherry are wonderful people who make sure your stay is what it should be.  They make you feel like you've been neighbors for years and you just feel welcome.  We will be back, hopefully sooner than later.  I don't think I could say enough great things about our stay but my daughter sums it up by saying simply "Wonderfulness"!

The Griffith Family

Lake Worth, FL

P.S. You should try the honey, delicious!

Stayed: August 2008
Submitted: August 27, 2008
Source: VRBO

  

Anonymous

Hickory, NC

We had a short family reunion tied to Beamer's Ladies Football Camp. The lake house was excellent for this. Kitchen very well equipped everything in the house was clean and in good working order. We did not get to use the water facilities as much as we would have liked due to time but the dock was excellent. All cell phones worked from the cabin an extra nice feature. Highly recommend for anyone wanting to stay by the lake with a large family. Also the Dish network was available, another nice feature seldom found.

Stayed: July 2008
Submitted: July 31, 2008
Source: VRBO

Owner response:

This comment refers to "Lakeshore Cabin", a larger property that we formerly managed. It is located on the water, just down the road from the lodge.

 

  

Bob Wisniewski

Newark DE

This place is amazing!!!The cabin was built with much love and it shows. Every part of this property is first class and just as clean as can be. It’s far enough away that you can just sit back, relax and enjoy the beauty that Virginia has to offer or if you want you can jump in the car and find lots of thing to do. The owners couldn't be nicer! They make sure every part of your stay is up to your expectations but are never intrusive. From dropping off fresh veggies from their garden to mailing back an item I had left behind they made sure we were happy with our stay from the moment we arrived. Look no further. This is the place to stay!!!

Stayed: July 2008

Submitted: July 27, 2008

Source: VRBO

  

Mike & Kimberly Jones

Falls Mills, VA

My husband found your lodge as a surprise for our 10th wedding anniversary.  It was a wonderful retreat from everyday busy-ness.  A beautiful lodge with lots of amenities.  We will tell others about this place.  I also love the support for Thistle Farms products and the women of Magdalene.

Stayed: June 2008

Submitted: June 30, 2008

Source: VRBO

  

 

Catherine5

Ashburn VA

We spent a weekend in July at the lodge, and had a BLAST!  The owners were so sweet, they even brought coffee up to the house late Friday night just in case we wanted it Saturday morning!  We rented a boat on Claytor lake one day and had a blast!  The house is beautiful, and the owners are very sweet. Definitely stay here if you have a chance

Stayed: December 2007
Submitted: December 20, 2007
Source: VRBO

  

Tonya4

Wake Forest, NC

We thoroughly enjoyed our...

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay despite the two days of rain and a horrible Thursday night loss to Boston College.  Our eleven year old son enjoyed fishing from the dock, and we did manage to get our boat on the lake for one day of fishing.  The cabin is beautiful and it allowed us easy travel for a visit back to Radford and Virginia Tech.  We will definitely return as soon as our schedule allows a visit.  Thanks for your hospitality.

Stayed: November 2007
Submitted: November 6, 2007
Source: VRBO

  

Beth14

Blacksburg, VA

We used the cabin for my ...

We used the cabin for my rehearsal dinner on Friday night. On Saturday my new husband and I spent the night and loved it so much we stayed an extra night. Thanks for everything! It was a wonderful place to spend the first two nights of married life. I look forward to coming back in a year for our first anniversary.

Beth and Ryan Weyers

Stayed: October 2007
Submitted: October 10, 2007
Source: VRBO

  

George Libey

Radford, VA

We rented the Lodge for the weekend of my daughter’s wedding. We had a family get together after rehearsal on Friday evening and everyone just loved it. Saturday night my daughter and her new husband spent their first honeymoon night there. The liked it so much the asked if I could get it for Sunday, and fortunately it was available. It is a great spot for vacations or a honeymoon.

Stayed: October 2007Submitted: October 10, 2007

 

 

lisa45

williamsburg virginia

SHERRI AND JERRY,

 

THANKS FOR THE USE OF YOU CABIN IT WAS REALLY NICE AND THE FISHING WAS GOOD ALSO WE WILL COME BACK AND RECOMMEND YOU TO ALL WE KNOW. HAD A BEAUTIFUL WEEK THERE THANKS FOR ALL YOU DID FOR US.

 

LISA, BILL, AND PRISSY

Stayed: September 2007
Submitted: September 23, 2007
Source: VRBO

  

 

 

Steve & Jill1

Charleston, WV

Dear Sherry and Jerry, W...

Dear Sherry and Jerry,

We wanted to tell you about the great vacation that we had while at Lakewood Lodge and Claytor Lake.  You all made our holiday not only a vacation but a very relaxing experience.  Your hospitality is second to none.

We stopped by on the way home but found you were away.  We wanted to discuss another visit to your wonderful area in the coming spring. We will contact you in the near future.  Again thank you for the wonderful vegetables and the special honey.  There is some Claytor Lake Honey on its way to a very special soldier in Iraq.

Hope to see you soon...........Steve & Jill

Stayed: August 2007
Submitted: August 29, 2007
Source: VRBO

  

Paul20

Mclean, Virginia

The owners (Jerry and Sherry) were fabulous and bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable.  Everything was great from the cabin (clean, comfortable, quiet) to the use of their dock and boat/canoe/kayak.  The families in the area were also extremely friendly and accommodating.  We will definitely be back next year.  Paul and Karen

Stayed: August 2007S
Submitted: August 27, 2007
Source: VRBO

  

Debbie & Bruce Vardaro

We enjoyed the cabin and the quiet surroundings. The cabin was as beautiful as advertised and The Vaughn's couldn't have been nicer.

Stayed: August 2007

Submitted: August 19, 2007

Source: VRBO

  

Eileen and Chris Blazic

Wyncote, Pennsylvania

Dear Sherry and Jerry,

We want to thank you for your lovely hospitality for our three-night stay in early July. Your vacation 'home' is truly a cozy and inviting place to rest and relax, with all of the comforts of home! You included so many details - from every kitchen appliance and tool to the TV all set up for the All-Star Game. The signed Dodger pennant was an added treat! We enjoyed every minute in the beautifully decorated rooms, and we especially liked the availability of the Jacuzzi after our daily bike rides on the New River Trail. The porch was a peaceful place to read and enjoy our meals. The dock was a special place to sit and watch the sunset and absorb the peace and quiet of Claytor Lake!

It was a special treat for us to come home with some clover honey from Jerry's hives and copies of Sherry's inspiring books. We wish you much success with fulfilling your special dream. You have created a welcoming and peaceful 'home away from home.' We hope to return soon!

 

Sincerely,

Eileen and Chris Blazic

Stayed: July 2007

Submitted: July 30, 2007

Source: VRBO

   

Art, Donita, Hope and Mary

Christiansburg, VA

Jerry and Sherry, We rea...

Jerry and Sherry,

We really enjoyed our weekend at your cabin.  Thank you.

Stayed: July 2007

Submitted: July 29, 2007

Source: VRBO

  

Angela Curren

Sacramento California

Dear Sherry and Jerry, ...

Dear Sherry and Jerry,

 

Thank you for a wonderful stay that was much more than we expected. The cabin was beautiful and so well equipped we really could relax and just enjoy the experience. After our whirlwind tour of VA it was a great place to stop and just breathe a little.

You and Jerry made it a real special experience for us with all the extra things you did for us. Helping with our dinner dilemma and allowing the kids to use the canoe and Kayak.

The boys loved the jacuzzi, the canoe, the lightening bugs, and running through the sprinklers.

 

I loved being able to sit and read in and outside. I even enjoyed sitting on the patio table drinking coffee as a light rain came down.

 

None of us wanted to leave. Though I loved the cabin and the furnishings, it’s the kindness of your family that I will remember most.

 

Angela

Sacramento

Stayed: July 2007
Submitted: July 27, 2007
Source: VRBO

  

J. Clardy

This was one of the best two day vacations I have ever taken. The pictures on the website don't begin to do justice to the beautiful home. I use the word home because that is exactly how you feel only you aren't having to do the usual at home work! The mountain environment is so relaxing and Sherry and Jerry are the perfect hosts. They are most helpful if you need them. I would highly recommend this property for anyone wishing to leave their stress behind.

Stayed: July 2007

Submitted: July 26, 2007

Source: VRBO

  

Laura Sigmon

West Chester, OH

We really enjoyed our sta...

We really enjoyed our stay at Lakewood Lodge. When we first arrived, we were amazed at how nicely furnished the cabin was.  We enjoyed all the unique touches, the beautiful woodwork and the handmade quilts.  The front porch is a wonderful spot to sit and relax.  Our 15-year-old twin boys enjoyed the xbox while my husband and I enjoyed walking down to the dock to enjoy the beautiful view of Claytor Lake.  We will definitely be back!

Stayed: July 2007

Submitted: July 23, 2007

Source: VRBO

  

Eddie Oliver

Richmond, VA

What a great place for a ...

What a great place for a "getaway".  We spent four nights and enjoyed the luxury accommodations which exceeded our expectations!!  We enjoyed several rounds of golf at nearby courses and thanks to the excellent culinary features, we enjoyed four wonderful meals.

Stayed: July 2007

Submitted: July 17, 2007

Source: VRBO

  

Anonymous

Leesburg, VA

Dear Sherry and Jerry,

 

We just got back last night after spending eight wonderful days at your lodge.  The pictures don't do it justice.  It was the perfect size for Dean and I and our two dogs, and the scenery there is really wondrous.

 

Your hospitality was genuine and warm, and you really thought of everything.  I worked a puzzle, read a good book, enjoyed the rocking chair in the early morning with a cup of coffee, fished off the dock, played with Jake, enjoyed fireworks on the lake, and took some great pictures.  I never realized I could enjoy doing so much "nothing"!

 

We will definitely be back.  You have a great thing going, and many blessings will come of this.  Take care!

 

Dean and Bethny Scheuerman

Stayed: July 2007

Submitted: July 10, 2007

Source: VRBO

  

 

 

Rachel9

Columbus, Ohio

Thanks so much for a great time! The lodge was so nice and clean--perfect for our little family. We all slept so well with Bella upstairs in her own room. We loved the lake and going into Radford for a little ice cream. Bella loved swimming!

Thanks again! Happy 4th!

Stayed: July 2007

Submitted: July 5, 2007

Source: VRBO

  

Gary & Pam Herald

Salem, VA

Sherry & Jerry Thank y...

Sherry & Jerry

 

Thank you for a great time at the lake.

This was a point of stay for my family from NC, WV & KY to meet for my son Colten's HS Graduation  in Glenvar & daughter JOrden's State Softball Tourney in radford.

bottom of page